Skip to main content
Back to Lower-Contact Product Guides

Is Fellow Aiden Plastic-Free? What Fellow Says It’s Made Of

Last reviewed: by the MicroPlastics Research Desk. Submit a correction or see our editorial standards.

Quick answer

No. Fellow says the Aiden is built from plastic, stainless steel and silicone, and names the plastic as polyphenylene oxide (PPO). Fellow’s help center says it chose PPO “to achieve maximum thermal stability and true-to-the-degree temperature control”, which points to plastic in the heated parts, though Fellow doesn’t say which ones. The only part it assigns a material to is the carafe, which is double-walled stainless steel. Fellow also says PPO “doesn’t leech when boiled for 12 hours”, but it hasn’t published that test, and a chemical leaching result isn’t a particle count. If you want no plastic touching hot water, the Caraway 10-Cup and Ratio Eight Series 2 publish a fuller water-path breakdown.

Check the brand in your cupboard

Scan the label to see its packaging, what drives its contact score, and a lower-plastic swap.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Free · 3 scans · iOS and Android

A matte black drip coffee maker with a glass carafe of coffee beside a stoneware mug and a bowl of coffee beans on a kitchen counter
AI-generated editorial illustration of a generic drip coffee maker. It is not product photography or a test result.

Key Takeaways

  • Fellow’s materials list includes plastic. “High-quality, BPA free-food grade plastic, stainless steel, and silicone.”
  • The plastic is PPO. Fellow chose it for thermal stability, which suggests it is used where the water is hot.
  • Fellow doesn’t map materials to parts. Tank, water lines, showerhead and baskets are not individually identified.
  • The carafe is steel. Double-walled, vacuum-insulated stainless steel. Aiden has no hot plate.
  • “Doesn’t leech” is an unpublished claim about chemicals, not a test of micro- or nanoplastics.
  • Rivals publish more. Caraway and Ratio name the material of each stage; Moccamaster says plastic parts touch coffee or water.

Fellow Aiden, in Fellow’s own words

the plastic Fellow names
PPO
polyphenylene oxide, chosen for “maximum thermal stability”; parts not specified
Fellow help center, “Is Aiden BPA free?”, retrieved Oct 18, 2026
materials Fellow lists
3
“BPA free-food grade plastic, stainless steel, and silicone”
Fellow Aiden product page, retrieved Oct 18, 2026
maximum hot-brew water temperature
99 °C
210 °F; minimum 50 °C / 122 °F for hot brews
Fellow help center
regular price
$399.95
Storm Blue; 2-year standard warranty
Fellow Aiden product page, retrieved Oct 18, 2026

Is the Fellow Aiden plastic-free?

No, and Fellow doesn’t claim it is. The product page lists the Aiden’s materials as “High-quality, BPA free-food grade plastic, stainless steel, and silicone.” Glass isn’t on the list. Fellow’s marketing is about brewing control: it calls Aiden “the coffee maker that thinks like a pour-over”, with adjustable temperature, bloom and pulses.

That matters because a lot of people searching for a plastic-free coffee maker land on Aiden. It’s a well-reviewed brewer with a steel carafe and no hot plate. Those are real design choices, but they don’t make the water path plastic-free.

What does Fellow say Aiden is made of?

Fellow has published four relevant statements. Here they are exactly.

  • Product page: “Materials: High-quality, BPA free-food grade plastic, stainless steel, and silicone.”
  • “Is Aiden BPA free?” “Aiden uses polyphenylene oxide PPO which is 100% BPA-free and doesn’t leech when boiled for 12 hours. We chose this material to achieve maximum thermal stability and true-to-the-degree temperature control.” It adds that the material “makes the price point significantly more accessible”.
  • “What is Aiden’s Carafe Made From?” “Aiden’s carafe is double-walled stainless steel and vacuum-insulated.”
  • Product page, silicone: “A silicone seal helps manage heat and moisture during brewing to protect nearby cabinets and surfaces.”

Fellow’s reason for choosing PPO is worth reading closely. “Thermal stability” and “temperature control” are properties you need where water is being heated and held at a set temperature, so the plastic is probably in or near the hot side. That is our inference from Fellow’s wording, not something Fellow states. The help center does not say whether the tank, the internal lines, the showerhead or the baskets are PPO.

Which Aiden parts touch hot water?

Fellow Aiden, part by part (Fellow product page and help center, retrieved October 18, 2026)

Part
Removable water tank
What it touches
Cold water before heating
What Fellow says
Lifts out for filling and hand-washing
Not disclosed
Material
Part
Internal water lines and heater
What it touches
Water heated up to 99 °C
What Fellow says
Descaling dissolves scale “in the water lines”
Not disclosed
Line, heater and fitting materials
Part
Showerhead
What it touches
Hot water just before the coffee
What Fellow says
Removable and “not dishwasher safe”
Not disclosed
Material
Part
Single-serve and batch baskets
What it touches
Hot water and coffee, through a paper filter
What Fellow says
The only dishwasher-safe parts
Not disclosed
Material
Part
Thermal carafe
What it touches
Finished coffee
What Fellow says
Double-walled stainless steel, vacuum-insulated
Not disclosed
Lid material
Part
Steam seal
What it touches
Steam and moisture
What Fellow says
Silicone
Not disclosed
Whether it touches the water path

So the honest picture is three known facts and four gaps. Hot water passes through the lines, the heater, the showerhead and the basket, and Fellow has named a heat-stable plastic without naming where it goes. Paper filters sit between the basket and the grounds, but hot water still touches the basket walls. The carafe is steel. The Aiden ships with the thermal carafe only, according to Fellow’s in-the-box list; we found no glass carafe option from Fellow.

What is PPO, and does “doesn’t leech” settle the question?

Polyphenylene oxide is an engineering thermoplastic, chosen in appliances for heat resistance and dimensional stability. It is a different polymer from the polypropylene in many kettles and pod machines and from the Tritan copolyester in many cold tanks. Fellow’s statement that it is “100% BPA-free” is about one chemical. BPA-free is a claim about what isn’t in the plastic, not proof that nothing comes out of it; our guide to BPA-free plastic explains the difference.

The “doesn’t leech when boiled for 12 hours” line raises more questions than it answers. Fellow hasn’t published the test: which part, which lab, what was measured, at what detection limit. “Leaching” usually means chemicals migrating into a liquid, and a chemical migration result is not a count of physical particles. A boiling test on a sample also isn’t the same as months of hot water, scale and descaling solution running through a machine. We’d treat it as a manufacturer claim that may well be true for what was measured, without evidence that it covers microplastics.

Use the App

Is your brewer’s hot water path plastic?

Scan your coffee maker. The app reads the maker’s declared materials, shows what it does and doesn’t disclose, and points to brewers that publish a full water-path breakdown. It doesn’t test your coffee.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

How does Aiden compare with Moccamaster, Ratio, Caraway, Breville and OXO?

The table sorts each brewer by what touches hot water, using only what each maker publishes. A blank in a maker’s disclosure is shown as a blank, not filled in with a guess.

Drip brewers by what touches hot water (maker documents, retrieved October 18, 2026)

Cold tank
Not specified
Heated path
Not specified; Fellow names PPO plastic for thermal stability
Showerhead and basket
Not specified
Carafe
Double-wall stainless, vacuum-insulated
Cold tank
Not specified by part; materials listed as “Metal / BPA, BPS, BPF, and phthalate-free plastic”
Heated path
Copper heating element
Showerhead and basket
Maker says “plastic components intended to come into contact with coffee or water” are BPA-, BPS-, BPF- and phthalate-free
Carafe
Stainless, borosilicate glass lining
Cold tank
Tritan TX2001; “no hot water contact”
Heated path
Borosilicate glass lines, aluminum heater, silicone gaskets and tubing
Showerhead and basket
304 stainless showerhead; double-wall stainless basket
Carafe
Glass, or stainless thermal with silicone lid
Cold tank
“BPA-free copolymer”
Heated path
Glass lines, die-cast aluminum heater, silicone
Showerhead and basket
Stainless showerhead; “BPA-free polymer-lined” basket
Carafe
Double-wall stainless thermal
Cold tank
Glass
Heated path
“stainless steel pathway”
Showerhead and basket
Stainless showerhead, basket and reusable filter
Carafe
Glass, on a stainless warming plate
Cold tank
Not specified
Heated path
Not specified
Showerhead and basket
Flat and cone baskets; materials not specified
Carafe
Thermal carafe; page lists overall construction as “Brushed Stainless Steel”
Cold tank
Not specified
Heated path
Not specified
Showerhead and basket
Basket and Rainmaker showerhead are dishwasher-safe; materials not specified
Carafe
Double-wall, vacuum-insulated thermal

Retrieved October 18, 2026. Prices change. Caraway announced the 10-Cup on September 22, 2026; its product page doesn’t list seals or valves, and its listed payment plan is four payments of $124.

Three groups emerge. Caraway is the only one here whose maker claims no plastic touches the water or coffee: “made entirely of stainless steel and glass”, though its page doesn’t list seals. Ratio’s Eight Series 2 keeps plastic to the cold tank and puts silicone, glass, aluminum and steel on the hot side; the Six has a polymer-lined basket. Moccamaster openly says plastic parts touch coffee or water, and our Moccamaster guide traces them. Aiden, Breville and OXO sit in the third group: they don’t publish enough to place each part.

How do you ask Fellow what touches the water?

Fellow’s help center has a chat assistant that can hand you to its customer experience team. Ask specific, part-by-part questions, because “is it safe?” will get you the BPA answer again:

  1. What is the water tank made of?
  2. Which parts are PPO: the heater housing, internal water lines, fittings, showerhead or baskets?
  3. What are the heating element and the parts directly around it made of?
  4. Are the internal tubes and seals silicone, and are any in the hot-water path?
  5. What is the carafe lid made of?
  6. Can you share the 12-hour boil test: what was measured, by whom, and at what detection limit? Was any particle testing done?

If you get answers, keep them with your purchase records, and check that they apply to your production version. A useful answer names a material for each part. A vague answer is information too.

How should you look after an Aiden’s plastic parts?

Fellow’s care instructions are the ones to follow, and they are specific. None of them is presented by Fellow as a way to reduce particles, and we don’t claim that either. They are about keeping each part in the condition it was designed for.

  • Dishwasher only for the baskets. Fellow says “the only two parts of Aiden that are dishwasher safe are the two included brew baskets.” The carafe, showerhead and water tank are hand-wash parts.
  • Gentle on the showerhead. Fellow recommends dish soap, warm water and “a soft brush or sponge”, and asks you not to use “anything overly abrasive”.
  • Descale when prompted. Aiden decides the interval from your water. Fellow asks for “a high quality biodegradable and phosphate-free coffee machine liquid descaler” and names Urnex Liquid Dezcal. The cycle runs in three stages of about 16, 10 and 10 minutes.
  • Use paper filters. Aiden ships with 15 cone and 15 flat-bottom filters and takes standard Melitta sizes, so finding replacements is easy.

If a part cracks, warps or discolors badly, contact Fellow support (Aiden carries a two-year standard warranty) rather than improvising a replacement. The same advice applies to any brewer in the comparison table.

What the evidence does not establish

  • No Aiden particle test. The reviewed sources did not include a micro- or nanoplastic measurement of coffee from an Aiden, or from any of the brewers in the table.
  • No public PPO leaching data. Fellow’s 12-hour boil claim is unpublished. Even if accurate, it describes chemical migration, not particle release.
  • No ranking by exposure. A glass tank or steel showerhead is a real materials difference, but no study has compared these brewers’ output.
  • Our PPO-placement inference is an inference. Fellow’s wording suggests the hot side; only Fellow can confirm.
  • No health outcome. The FDA says current scientific evidence does not demonstrate that levels of micro- and nanoplastics detected in foods pose a risk to human health.

Should you buy an Aiden, or something else?

  • If brewing control matters most and you accept some plastic in the machine, Aiden is a well-specified brewer with a steel carafe and no hot plate. Use paper filters, descale when it prompts you, and hand-wash the showerhead and tank as Fellow advises.
  • If you want no plastic touching hot water, the Caraway 10-Cup is the closest documented option, with the seal question still open. The Ratio Eight Series 2 keeps plastic to the cold tank.
  • If you already own an Aiden, nothing here shows you need to replace it. Ask Fellow the questions above if the parts matter to you.
  • If you’d rather skip the machine, a glass pour-over and a steel kettle remove the hot plastic path entirely. Our brewing-method comparison traces each option.

For the wider coffee picture, from beans to cups, see our microplastics in coffee hub. If a cold tank in Tritan is the deciding point, read is Tritan a microplastic?

What the MicroPlastics app checks

  • The declared materials of a named coffee maker, and which parts the maker leaves unspecified.
  • Which stages of the water path are plastic, glass, steel or silicone where the maker says so.
  • Care steps from the maker that affect wear, such as descaling and dishwasher limits.
  • Brewers that publish a fuller water-path breakdown. The app reviews product information; it does not measure particles.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Fellow Aiden plastic-free?

No. Fellow lists Aiden’s materials as BPA-free food-grade plastic, stainless steel and silicone, and its help center names the plastic as polyphenylene oxide (PPO). Fellow does not say which parts are plastic.

Does Fellow Aiden have plastic touching hot water?

Probably, though Fellow does not confirm which parts. It says it chose PPO for thermal stability and temperature control, which points to the heated side. The tank, lines, showerhead and baskets are not individually identified.

What is the Fellow Aiden carafe made of?

Fellow says Aiden’s carafe is double-walled, vacuum-insulated stainless steel. Aiden ships with the thermal carafe and has no hot plate. Fellow does not state the lid material.

Is the Fellow Aiden BPA-free?

Fellow says Aiden uses polyphenylene oxide, which it describes as 100% BPA-free and says doesn’t leech when boiled for 12 hours. Fellow has not published that test, and BPA-free does not mean no particle release.

What is a coffee maker with no plastic touching hot water?

Caraway says its 10-Cup Coffee Maker is made entirely of stainless steel and glass so no plastic touches your coffee, though its page does not list seals. The Ratio Eight Series 2 keeps plastic to its cold tank and uses silicone on the hot side.

Is Fellow Aiden better than Moccamaster for plastic?

Neither is plastic-free. Moccamaster says plastic parts intended to contact coffee or water are BPA, BPS, BPF and phthalate-free; Fellow names PPO. Neither publishes a particle test, so a measured winner cannot be named.

Sources

  1. Fellow (retrieved October 18, 2026). Aiden Precision Coffee Maker: materials, features, price and warranty. Fellow Products.
  2. Fellow (updated October 6, 2026; retrieved October 18, 2026). Is Aiden BPA free? (polyphenylene oxide). Fellow help center.
  3. Fellow (retrieved October 18, 2026). What is Aiden’s carafe made from?. Fellow help center.
  4. Fellow (retrieved October 18, 2026). Are any parts of Aiden dishwasher safe?. Fellow help center.
  5. Fellow (retrieved October 18, 2026). Minimum and maximum water temperatures for brewing with Aiden. Fellow help center.
  6. Fellow (retrieved October 18, 2026). How do I descale my Aiden? and How do I clean my Aiden’s showerhead?. Fellow help center.
  7. Moccamaster USA (retrieved October 18, 2026). Why are plastics used in Moccamaster brewers? and KBT product page. Moccamaster.
  8. Ratio Coffee (retrieved October 18, 2026). Ratio Eight Series 2 materials breakdown. Ratio.
  9. Ratio Coffee (retrieved October 18, 2026). Ratio Six Series 2: copolymer tank, glass lines, aluminum heater, polymer-lined basket. Ratio.
  10. Caraway (retrieved October 18, 2026). 10-Cup Coffee Maker: glass reservoir, stainless pathway, glass carafe. Caraway.
  11. Homes & Gardens (September 22, 2026). Caraway’s new plastic-free coffee maker ($495 launch coverage). Homes & Gardens.
  12. Breville (retrieved October 18, 2026). Breville Precision Brewer Thermal (BDC450). Breville US.
  13. OXO (retrieved October 18, 2026). Brew 8-Cup Coffee Maker. OXO.
  14. US Food and Drug Administration (retrieved October 18, 2026). Microplastics and nanoplastics in foods. FDA.

Your next product question

Start with your drip coffee maker and its carafe.

See which stages of the water path the maker identifies as plastic, glass, steel or silicone, and which it leaves unspecified. A scan cannot measure particles in your coffee.

Research examples:Fellow Aiden, Moccamaster KBT, Ratio Eight Series 2, Ratio Six Series 2, Caraway 10-Cup, Breville BDC450, OXO Brew 8-Cup
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
iOS and Android · current terms in each store

Use the exact product name, model and label to check the information behind an assessment. A photo does not measure particles or personal health risk. The examples above are research subjects, not a verified app-coverage list.

Build a product-routine reading plan →
Recorded interface example. On-screen scores, exposure labels and suggested swaps are modeled outputs, not particle measurements, personal exposure or evidence of a health benefit.

Go deeper

Less-travelled research from our archive that follows directly from this page.

Related Research

Does a Moka Pot Have Microplastics? The Gasket, the Valve and the Aluminum Question

Stovetop moka pots are metal apart from the gasket. We trace Bialetti Moka Express, Brikka and Venus, Alessi 9090 and an electric model, and explain the aluminum study: at most 4% of the EU weekly limit.

Read more

Does a French Press Have Microplastics? Every Part, Model by Model

Traces the beaker, lid, frame and filter stack of the Bodum Chambord, Brazil and Caffettiera, ESPRO P3/P7 and Frieling. Shows which presses keep plastic out of the coffee, and why diterpenes are a separate issue.

Read more

Does Extra Gum Have Microplastics? What Its “Gum Base” Can Contain

Extra lists “gum base” but not its polymers. What 21 CFR 172.615 allows, what Mars Wrigley discloses, and what the peer-reviewed 2025 saliva study found for gum in general, plus 5, Doublemint and what to chew instead.

Read more

Reusable Nespresso Capsules: Steel, Silicone and Microplastic Questions

Compare selected SealPod, WayCap and Bluecup declarations, brewing closures and model restrictions. Reusable construction does not establish particle-free coffee.

Read more

Chemex and Microplastics: Glass, Filters and the Full Brewing Path

Trace manual glass carafes, exact filter formats, the required Funnex gasket and the separate Ottomatic water path. Material declarations do not certify particles per brew.

Read more

Hario V60: Plastic, Glass, Ceramic and Steel Compared

Compare classic plastic, current Tritan NEO, glass holders, porcelain and coated versus bare steel. Exact materials and care are documented; a V60 particle count is not.

Read more