Does Fairlife Have Microplastics? The Measured Number Is About Something Else
Last reviewed: by the MicroPlastics Research Desk. Submit a correction or see our editorial standards.
Quick Answer
Got a different brand in the cupboard? Scan the label for its polymer, risk score, and a cleaner swap.
Scan my product
On this page
Key Takeaways
- 20,452 ng of total phthalates per serving in Core Power High Protein Chocolate Milkshake — the highest of any dairy product in Consumer Reports’ testing.
- Consumer Reports wrote to Fairlife in February 2024. Fairlife did not respond, so there is no public indication of corrective action.
- Phthalates are not microplastics. One is a leached chemical, the other a shed particle. Nearly all coverage conflates them, and the conflation is why this page exists.
- No microplastic particle count has been published for Fairlife or for any competing ready-to-drink shake, so any specific figure you see is unsourced.
- Three plausible particle routes: the plastic bottle, ultrafiltration through polymer membranes, and dairy’s own measured baseline.
- Warmth is the controllable variable — a shake in a gym bag or a hot car is a different exposure from one kept cold.
- Powder in a glass or steel shaker remains the lowest-plastic way to hit a protein target, by a wide margin.
What has actually been measured
- total phthalates per serving
- 20,452 ng
- Core Power High Protein Chocolate Milkshake — the highest of any dairy product tested
- Consumer Reports, plasticisers in food testing
- when Consumer Reports wrote to Fairlife
- Feb 2024
- urging action to reduce exposure — no public response has followed
- Consumer Reports letter to Fairlife
- published microplastic particle counts for Fairlife
- Zero
- or for any competing ready-to-drink protein shake — the particle question is genuinely unmeasured
- MicroPlastics Research Desk survey of published testing, August 2026
- of daily microplastic particles from fruit, veg and grains
- ~99.5%
- a 2026 review of 193 papers — useful context for how much any single product contributes
- Exposure to microplastics from food, Journal of Hazardous Materials
The question and the answer are about different things
This is the part almost every article on this topic gets wrong, and it is worth being precise about.
Microplastics are particles — fragments of solid polymer, measured by counting them under spectroscopy. Phthalates are chemicals — plasticisers added to make polymers flexible, which are not chemically bound to the plastic and so migrate out into whatever the plastic is touching. They are measured in nanograms by mass spectrometry. Different substances, different instruments, different health literature.
When people search whether Fairlife has microplastics, they are asking about particles. The published measurement is about chemicals. Consumer Reports tested a range of foods for plasticisers and found Fairlife Core Power High Protein Chocolate Milkshake carried 20,452 nanograms of total phthalates per serving, the highest figure in its dairy category.
So the accurate answer is two-sided, and neither side is reassuring in the way people want. On the chemical question there is a real, specific, unfavourable number. On the particle question there is no published measurement at all — not for Fairlife, and not for any competitor.
The silence is part of the story
Consumer Reports did not simply publish and move on. Its Director of Food Policy, Brian Ronholm, wrote to Fairlife in February 2024, setting out the finding and urging the company to reduce exposure.
Fairlife did not respond. There is accordingly no public statement of whether the formulation, the packaging or the processing has changed since. That absence is itself informative: a brand that had reformulated in response would normally say so, because it is good news. Two years on, the reasonable working assumption is that whatever produced that number is still in place.
This is the same pattern as the wider category — see protein shakes ranked on microplastics and phthalates for how the brands compare when you line up what each has and has not disclosed.
Where particles would come from, if anyone measured
On the unmeasured particle question, three routes are plausible, and they are worth separating because only one of them is under your control.
| Route | Why it is plausible | Under your control? |
|---|---|---|
| The bottle | HDPE/PET in prolonged contact with a fatty, agitated liquid; shedding rises with warmth and time | Partly — keep it cold, drink it sooner |
| Ultrafiltration | Milk is forced through polymer membranes under pressure to concentrate protein | No — this is the product |
| Dairy baseline | Microplastics have been detected in milk and dairy independently of packaging | No |
| The cap and liner | Threaded closures abrade; measured at 131 particles/L on reusable bottles | Partly — fewer open/close cycles |
Note the middle two. Ultrafiltration is the entire proposition of the product — it is how you get 42 grams of protein into a bottle of milk — and it necessarily involves pushing milk through polymer membranes. You cannot buy an ultrafiltered milk without that step. This is the same structural point that came up with PTFE in cooking oil: when the plastic is in the processing rather than the packaging, no consumer choice reaches it.
Use the App
Scan your exact protein shake bottle
Fairlife has no brand-specific particle test. Scan the bottle you actually buy to compare its material, storage risks and lower-plastic alternatives.
Scan my protein shakeHow to audit your own protein routine
This is the part worth actually doing, because the ranking between brands matters far less than the format you have settled into.
- Count how many plastic-bottled servings a week you have. Someone drinking one shake daily has 365 bottle-contact events a year. That number, not the brand on the label, is the exposure.
- Check where they are stored. A case in a garage, a car boot or a gym bag is the single worst condition — warmth is the strongest driver of both particle shedding and phthalate migration. A case in the fridge is a materially different product.
- Look at what the protein is for. If it is convenience, powder in a steel shaker covers the same need with no bottle at all. If it is genuinely on-the-go, canned or carton formats move the problem rather than removing it.
- Check the shaker too. A plastic shaker bottle washed hot, scratched by a metal mixing ball and reused daily is its own source — see bottle materials compared.
- Do not switch brands on a headline. No competitor publishes particle testing either, so a swap based on a “microplastics” article is a swap based on nothing. The Consumer Reports phthalate data is the only brand-level measurement that exists here.
- Keep the whole thing in proportion. A 2026 review of 193 papers put fruit, vegetables and grains at roughly 99.5% of daily microplastic particle intake, simply because of how often they are eaten. One shake is not the centre of anyone’s exposure — see where dietary microplastics actually come from.
What the MicroPlastics app checks
- The packaging polymer on the bottle, cap and liner
- Whether a product has published third-party testing at all
- Phthalate and plasticiser flags where testing exists
- A 0–100 score you can compare across formats, not just brands
Related: protein shakes ranked, microplastics in milk and dairy, Premier Protein, and Muscle Milk.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Fairlife have microplastics?
What is the difference between phthalates and microplastics?
Did Fairlife respond to the Consumer Reports findings?
Is Fairlife worse than other protein shakes?
Does ultrafiltration add microplastics to Fairlife?
What is the lowest-microplastic way to get protein?
Sources
- Consumer Reports (2024). Letter to Fairlife regarding plasticiser findings — 20,452 ng of total phthalates per serving in Core Power High Protein Chocolate Milkshake, the highest of any dairy product tested; sent February 2024 by Brian Ronholm, Director of Food Policy. No response received. Consumer Reports Advocacy.
- Food Safety Magazine (2024). High levels of toxic plasticisers, phthalates and bisphenols found in nearly all foods in the U.S. — coverage of the Consumer Reports testing programme. Food Safety Magazine.
- Winkler A, et al. (2020). Microplastic abrasion from the screw cap system of reusable plastic bottles by Raman microspectroscopy — 131 ± 25 particles/L after a single opening. ACS ES&T Water.
After install · scan this first
Open the camera and scan your protein shake.
Bottle, can, or carton changes the plastic story more than the brand does. Scan yours for the lowest-plastic way to hit the same protein target.
Android · early access
Get the launch email the day Android opens.
One email. No spam. We send when the Android app is in the Play Store, and never again unless you opt in.
Go deeper
Less-travelled research from our archive that follows directly from this page.
- Microplastics in Coffee Creamer: It's the Packaging, Not the Cream (2026)The other dairy product that lives in a plastic bottle in your fridge door
- Do Energy Drinks Have Microplastics? Prime, Celsius, Red Bull & Monster Ranked (2026)Same ready-to-drink format question, different aisle
- How Much Plastic Do We Eat Per Week? The Credit-Card Stat ExplainedWhere a single shake actually sits in your weekly total
Related Research
Do Nespresso Pods Have Microplastics? The Aluminum-Liner Answer (2026)
Yes, but far fewer than plastic K-Cups. Nespresso pods are aluminum with a thin food-grade polymer liner, the liner is the microplastic-contact layer. What the research shows, how Vertuo and Original differ, and the lowest-shed setup.
Read moreMilk Brands Ranked for Microplastics & Phthalates (2026)
Fairlife, Horizon, Organic Valley, Lactaid, and store brands compared. Packaging drives microplastics; Consumer Reports found phthalates highest in Fairlife Core Power (24,928 ng/serving). How to pick the lowest-plastic milk.
Read moreDoes PUR Gum Have Microplastics? The Gum Base Question (2026)
Probably, because "gum base" is the tell. PUR markets aspartame-free and vegan, but does not disclose a chicle base, and undisclosed gum base is almost always synthetic (plastic). PUR vs Simply Gum vs plastic-free options.
Read moreDo Ninja Coffee Makers Have Microplastics? Every Model, Where the Plastic Touches Hot Water (2026)
Yes, Ninja coffee makers have plastic in the hot-water path, like most drip machines. Which parts touch near-boiling water, how the DualBrew and thermal models compare, and the lower-plastic setup that keeps the machine.
Read moreDoes Trident Gum Have Microplastics? Yes — It's in the Gum Base (2026)
Yes. Trident’s “gum base” is a synthetic petroleum-based plastic, and a 2025 UCLA study found chewing gum sheds 100–600 microplastic particles per gram of saliva. The honest catch: natural gum shed similar amounts.
Read moreDoes Orbit Gum Have Microplastics? The Synthetic-Base Verdict (2026)
Yes. Orbit uses a synthetic petroleum-based gum base, and a 2025 UCLA study found chewing gum sheds 100–600 microplastic particles per gram. Sugar-free does not mean plastic-free, here is the honest verdict.
Read more