Skip to main content
Back to Lower-Contact Product Guides

Best Microplastic-Free Toothpaste 2026: 18 Pastes Checked

Last reviewed: by the MicroPlastics Research Desk. Submit a correction or see our editorial standards.

Quick Answer

Plastic microbeads are banned from toothpaste in the US, England and the EU. What some mainstream pastes still contain are water-soluble synthetic polymers: in our check of nine big-brand pastes, five listed PEG-8, PEG-12, carbomer or a PEG/PPG copolymer, and none listed polyethylene. If you want none of them, these list no synthetic polymers on their own ingredient lists: Davids (fluoride-free, aluminium tube), Boka and RiseWell (hydroxyapatite), Tom's of Maine Whole Care (fluoride), Dr. Bronner's, hello kids, and Bite tablets in a glass jar.

Different product on your shelf? Paste the declared ingredient list to review documented name matches; this is not a product test.

Scan my product
Best microplastic-free toothpaste brands 2026 ranked

Key Takeaways

  • Microbeads (solid plastic scrubbing particles) are banned in toothpaste in the US, England and, since 17 October 2023, the EU.
  • The polymers left in some pastes are water-soluble: PEG-8, PEG-12, carbomer and PEG/PPG copolymers. In our 9-paste sample: Colgate Total and Colgate Kids (PEG-12), Crest Cavity Protection and Crest Kids (carbomer), Sensodyne Pronamel (PEG-8), Arm & Hammer Advance White (PEG-8 and a PEG/PPG copolymer).
  • Colgate Cavity Protection, Crest Pro-Health and Tom's Kids listed none of them.
  • Hydroxyapatite pastes (Boka, RiseWell, Davids Hydroxi) are fluoride-free. Two industry-linked trials found them non-inferior to fluoride for cavities; in the US only fluoride pastes can make an anticavity claim.
  • Studies looking for actual plastic particles in toothpaste disagree: a 2026 Turkish study found none, while studies of Indian and Chinese pastes found some.

What's in the big brands

Inactive ingredients as each maker lists them (or, where the brand site shows none, the US government's DailyMed label archive), checked on 21 September 2026. Formulas change, so check the pack.

Synthetic polymers in mainstream toothpastes (September 2026)
ToothpasteSynthetic polymers listedLabel source
Colgate Total Active Prevention Clean MintPEG-12colgate.com (a newer August 2026 DailyMed label lists no PEG-12: Colgate may be reformulating)
Colgate Cavity ProtectionNonecolgate.com
Colgate Kids Cavity ProtectionPEG-12colgate.com
Crest Cavity ProtectionCarbomerP&G SmartLabel
Crest Pro-Health Clean MintNoneDailyMed
Crest Kids Cavity ProtectionCarbomerP&G SmartLabel
Sensodyne Pronamel Daily ProtectionPEG-8DailyMed
Arm & Hammer Advance White Extreme WhiteningPEG-8, PEG/PPG-116/66 copolymerChurch & Dwight ingredient disclosure
Tom's of Maine Kids Silly StrawberryNoneTom's of Maine, DailyMed

Brand deep dives: Colgate, Crest and Sensodyne. Nearly every paste, polymer-free or not, uses cellulose gum, xanthan gum or carrageenan as a thickener. Those are natural or modified-natural polymers, not plastics.

The polymer names to know

Synthetic polymers you may see on a toothpaste label
IngredientWhat it doesWhat to know
PEG-8, PEG-12 (polyethylene glycol)Humectant, solventWater-soluble synthetic polymer; can carry trace 1,4-dioxane from manufacture
CarbomerThickenerCross-linked polyacrylic acid; swells into a gel in water
PEG/PPG copolymers, poloxamersViscosity control, surfactantSame chemical family as PEG
Polyethylene (PE)Former scrub beadSolid plastic; banned as a microbead; listed by none of the 18 US pastes we checked
Polypropylene, acrylates copolymerThickening, film-forming (in cosmetics)Listed by none of the 18 US pastes we checked

More on each: PEG, carbomer and the 10 worst microplastic ingredients. Whether a dissolved polymer counts as a “microplastic” depends on who is defining it. The EU restriction covers only solid particles, while the Plastic Soup Foundation counts liquid and water-soluble polymers too.

Why the beads went but the polymers stayed

On 18 December 2015 Congress passed the Microbead-Free Waters Act. It defines a microbead as a solid plastic particle under five millimetres intended to exfoliate or cleanse, and says in so many words that rinse-off cosmetics include toothpaste. Cosmetic-only pastes had to stop being made by 1 July 2017 and sold by 1 July 2018. Fluoride toothpaste is legally an over-the-counter drug, so its deadlines were a year later: 1 July 2018 for manufacture and 1 July 2019 for sale.

The Act is narrower than most people assume. It defines a microbead by its job, so a polymer that thickens or holds moisture is not one. It covers only rinse-off products. And it covers only solid particles, which leaves out the dissolved PEGs and carbomers still found in some pastes.

England banned microbeads from rinse-off products in 2018 (manufacture from 9 January, sale from 19 June), with no test of what the particle is for. The EU restriction, Regulation 2023/2055, came into force on 17 October 2023 and banned microbeads immediately, with other uses phased in until 2035. It covers only solid, water-insoluble particles, so water-soluble polymers are outside it. In the US, California banned rinse-off microbeads from sale from 2020 (AB 888); a 2025 bill to extend that to leave-on products and glitter was vetoed.

The broader figure you may have seen, that 87% of products contain microplastics, comes from a 2022 Plastic Soup Foundation analysis of 7,704 products from ten best-selling European cosmetics brands, including Oral-B. It counted liquid and water-soluble polymers, and it was not a toothpaste study.

Has anyone found plastic particles in toothpaste?

A few studies have looked, and they disagree. A 2026 study of personal-care products sold in Türkiye found no microplastics in the toothpastes; the bead-like particles were silica or cellulose. A 2019 study of 20 pastes bought in Istanbul found polyethylene in 20% of them, at 0.4–1% by weight. Studies of pastes from India (2022, 2025) and China (2025) reported polyethylene, polypropylene and other polymers, with methods that vary. None reports particles per gram for US brands. The same 2025 Chinese study found that toothbrush wear released far more particles than the paste; see do toothbrushes shed microplastics.

Every pick below lists no synthetic polymers on the maker's own ingredient list. Prices are the brand's list price on 21 September 2026.

Polymer-free toothpastes, checked against each maker's own ingredient list
PickBrand / productActiveThickenerPackagingPrice
Best overallDavids Premium NaturalNone (fluoride-free); baking sodaCarrageenanAluminium tube with food-grade liner, HDPE cap$10.95 / 5.25 oz
Best hydroxyapatiteBoka Ela MintNano-hydroxyapatiteXanthan gumTube (material not disclosed)$11.62 / 4 oz
Hydroxyapatite, runner-upRiseWell MineralHydroxyapatiteCellulose gum, xanthan gumLDPE tube, PP cap$12 / 3.4 oz
Best with fluorideTom's of Maine Whole CareSodium monofluorophosphateCarrageenan on older packs; none listed on the new formula#2 HDPE recyclable tube$7.99 / 4 oz
Best budgetDr. Bronner's All-OneNone (fluoride-free); baking sodaXanthan gumRecyclable tube (material not disclosed)$7.99 / 5 oz
Best zero-wasteBite Toothpaste BitsFluoride or nano-hydroxyapatiteGuar gumGlass jar, aluminium lid; home-compostable refill pouch$32 / 4 months (subscription)
Zero-waste, tabletsUnpasteFluoride or nano-hydroxyapatiteAlginate, gum arabicKraft paper pouch with sugar-cane liningSee brand
Clay-basedUncle Harry's ToothpasteNone (fluoride-free)Bentonite clayGlass jar, plastic lid$8 / 3 oz
Best for kidshello kidsFluoride or fluoride-freeXanthan gumHDPE #2 tube, PP cap$5.99 / 4.2 oz

Children's toothpaste

Two of the three big-brand kids' pastes we checked list a synthetic polymer: Colgate Kids (PEG-12) and Crest Kids (carbomer). Tom's of Maine Kids Silly Strawberry and all three hello kids pastes we checked (fluoride and fluoride-free) list none; hello's “sparkle” paste gets its shimmer from mica, not plastic glitter. Ask your dentist which fluoride strength suits your child's age.

The tube

Most tubes are plastic. Tom's of Maine used aluminium from the mid-1970s, switched to a plastic laminate in 2011, and since 2019 uses a recyclable #2 HDPE tube; hello uses the same kind. RiseWell's tube is LDPE. Davids is the exception among tubes: aluminium with a food-grade liner, so the paste touches the liner rather than bare metal. For no tube at all, Bite and Unpaste tablets come in a glass jar or a paper pouch.

Whether tubes shed plastic into the paste has not been studied: we found no published research on it. Packaging choice is a waste question more than an exposure one.

Hydroxyapatite vs fluoride: what the evidence says

Hydroxyapatite is the mineral tooth enamel is made of. The first hydroxyapatite toothpaste launched in Japan in 1980; nano-sized particles came in 2003. Two randomised trials compared it with fluoride for new cavities. In children, a microcrystalline hydroxyapatite paste was non-inferior over about a year (Paszynska 2021). In adults, a hydroxyapatite paste was non-inferior to 1,450 ppm fluoride over 18 months (Paszynska 2023). Both were linked to a hydroxyapatite manufacturer, as was a 2024 review that pooled them. A small independent 2025 review found no significant difference but only four eligible studies.

The American Dental Association's Seal requires fluoride for a cavity-protection claim, and in the US only fluoride pastes can make one. Hydroxyapatite is a reasonable choice if you want to avoid fluoride; fluoride remains the better-established option.

How to read a toothpaste label

  1. Find the active ingredient: sodium fluoride, stannous fluoride, sodium monofluorophosphate, hydroxyapatite, or none.
  2. Scan the inactive ingredients for PEG (any number), carbomer, PEG/PPG copolymer or poloxamer, polyethylene and acrylates.
  3. Cellulose gum, xanthan gum, guar gum and carrageenan are natural or modified-natural thickeners, not plastics.
  4. Ignore “microbead-free” claims: microbeads have been banned for years. The question is which polymers are left.

What the MicroPlastics app checks

  • Ingredient list parsed from the product label or barcode.
  • Flagged ingredients, polyethylene, acrylates, carbomer, PEG, fragrance, parabens.
  • Product category, leave-on vs rinse-off; risk weighted differently.
  • Brand and product line, clean certifications (EWG VERIFIED, MADE SAFE).
  • Cited research and regulatory references for each scan.

Use the App

Scan personal-care products before buying

The MicroPlastics app reads the ingredient list, flags microplastic polymers and additives, and points to cleaner alternatives in the same category.

Scan cosmetics in the app

Frequently Asked Questions

Does toothpaste still contain microplastics in 2026?

Not as microbeads: solid plastic scrubbing beads are banned in toothpaste in the US, England and the EU. Some mainstream pastes still contain water-soluble synthetic polymers such as PEG-8, PEG-12 and carbomer; in our check, five of nine big-brand pastes listed at least one, and none listed polyethylene.

Which toothpaste does not have microplastics?

These list no synthetic polymers on their makers' ingredient lists: Davids, Boka, RiseWell, Tom's of Maine Whole Care, Dr. Bronner's, Bite Toothpaste Bits, Unpaste, Uncle Harry's and hello kids. Among big brands, Colgate Cavity Protection and Crest Pro-Health listed none in September 2026.

Does Colgate toothpaste have microplastics?

Colgate Total Clean Mint and Colgate Kids list PEG-12, a water-soluble synthetic polymer, not solid microplastic particles. Colgate Cavity Protection lists none. A newer Colgate Total label from August 2026 no longer lists PEG-12, so check the pack.

What ingredients should I avoid in toothpaste?

If you want no synthetic polymers, look for PEG (any number), carbomer, PEG/PPG copolymers or poloxamers, polyethylene and acrylates. Cellulose gum, xanthan gum, guar gum and carrageenan are fine: they are natural or modified-natural thickeners.

Is hydroxyapatite toothpaste as good as fluoride?

Two randomised trials, in children (2021) and adults (2023), found hydroxyapatite non-inferior to fluoride for new cavities, but both were linked to a manufacturer and the evidence base is small. The ADA Seal requires fluoride, and in the US only fluoride pastes can claim cavity protection.

Is Tom's of Maine toothpaste microplastic-free?

Tom's Whole Care lists no synthetic polymers, and none of the 24 Tom's toothpastes we checked listed one. The tube is recyclable #2 HDPE plastic; Tom's moved away from aluminium tubes in 2011.

Sources

  1. US Congress (2015). Microbead-Free Waters Act of 2015 (Public Law 114-114). govinfo.gov.
  2. US Food and Drug Administration (2024). The Microbead-Free Waters Act: FAQs. FDA.
  3. European Commission (2023). Commission Regulation (EU) 2023/2055 on synthetic polymer microparticles. Official Journal of the EU.
  4. UK Government (2017). The Environmental Protection (Microbeads) (England) Regulations 2017. legislation.gov.uk.
  5. Plastic Soup Foundation (2022). Plastic: The Hidden Beauty Ingredient. Plastic Soup Foundation.
  6. Paszynska E, et al. (2021). Impact of a toothpaste with microcrystalline hydroxyapatite on the occurrence of early childhood caries: a 1-year randomized clinical trial. Scientific Reports.
  7. Paszynska E, et al. (2023). Caries-preventing effect of a hydroxyapatite-toothpaste in adults: a 18-month double-blinded randomized clinical trial. Frontiers in Public Health.
  8. Chatzidimitriou K, et al. (2025). The role of hydroxyapatite-based, fluoride-free toothpastes on the prevention and the remineralization of initial caries lesions: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Journal of Dentistry.
  9. Bal Y, Tavşanoğlu ÜN, Başaran Kankılıç G (2026). From shelf to skin: tracing microplastic contamination in cosmetics and personal care products across Türkiye. Bulletin of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology.
  10. Ustabasi GS, Baysal A (2019). Occurrence and risk assessment of microplastics from various toothpastes. Environmental Monitoring and Assessment.
  11. US Food and Drug Administration (2024). 1,4-Dioxane in cosmetics: a manufacturing byproduct. FDA.

Build your cosmetics ingredient watchlist

Scan products in your bathroom, save reference-list matches, and get an alert when a brand you use reformulates. The web checker handles one declared ingredient list at a time; the app handles your whole shelf.

Download on the App Store
  • Free on iOS
  • 3 free scans
  • No sign-up
  • Result in seconds

“Really cool to scan stuff around the kitchen and see what's actually in it. The swaps it suggests are realistic.” App Store review · 5.0★

Android · early access

Get the launch email the day Android opens.

One email. No spam. We send when the Android app is in the Play Store, and never again unless you opt in.

Go deeper

Less-travelled research from our archive that follows directly from this page.

Related Research